Tony Robbins

I got to see Tony Robbins in person yesterday and I would honestly recommend the experience to anyone. He is absolutely amazing and says things in the exact right way to get you to see them in a new light.

He had one thing he wanted us to do after the conference and that was to write a letter to ourselves saying why we are going to stop suffering. By that I don’t mean end world hunger or anything. The way he put it was that suffering is anything that lowers your energy and enthusiasm, for example stress or anger. He wants everyone to commit to immediately refocusing ourselves whenever we feel any type of suffering coming on.

Now if you are thinking that that is such a little thing to ask of us and that ending world hunger would be a lot better goal then you were needing to hear the exact thing I was yesterday.

For some background I am the type of person that tends to feel that I should be happy with where I am in life because I have so much to be grateful for that I shouldn’t be asking for more from life. I should just be trying to give more and that is what I want to accomplish with life.

Now back to that example which was my favourite from yesterday. Should you put your child’s oxygen mask on before yours on a plane? No, you put it on yourself first so that you can ensure that you can help your kid. Well life works like that too. In life you need to focus first on taking care of yourself so that when you go to help others you can give even more.

It sounds so simple but this was exactly what I needed to hear. If you’ve read some of my other posts you know that sometimes I just feel overwhelming sadness, overwhelming suffering. I thought that at least I could help the other people suffering by giving them someone to relate to. But from now on I am promising to myself to end suffering as soon as it starts. Because suffering is not making my life better, anything but. So I am going to stop just accepting that it happens. Suffering is holding me back from thinking I even deserve a purpose. But screw it I do. So next time I am suffering I am going to think of all the things that I am grateful for (because hell you can’t be sad or mad or stressed and grateful at the same time) and yet I am still going to remember that I deserve as much as I ask from life. So I am going to ask more, because I am going to keep reminding myself I deserve more.

So one thing I ask of you guys is if I ever forget how much I deserve, remind me. Remind me that I don’t deserve to suffer. Remind me that we all deserve a purpose. Remind me that having a purpose does not mean I won’t be able to help people, instead I’ll be able to help even more. And if you need reminding too I am here for you.

“He will act like prudent archers, who, seeing that the mark they plan to hit is too far away and knowing what space can be covered by the power of their bows, take an aim much higher than their mark, not in order to reach with their arrows so great a height, but to be able, with the aid of so high an aim, to attain their purpose.”

-Niccolo Machiavelli

 

Leave a Reply

