Tourist mindset

I don’t know what it is about stars but somehow seeing them always manages to make me take a little extra time. Appreciate them. Really ground myself in the present. To be honest I don’t think most of us do that enough. Just take time to even just relax. To just do something for no reason other than it makes you feel happy. And I don’t mean video games, or TV, or scrolling through facebook. Yeah in some way you are happy but it is not that to the core at peace feeling that I am thinking about.

That kind of feeling is hard to come by. I get it a lot when I am with my boyfriend and that is a huge part of why I love him so much. He grounds me. Reminds me that there is so much beauty in the world and so much happiness right at your fingertips. It’s the same way I feel about the stars. I can be stressed as hell, walking home from campus. And then the clouds open up and I realize, damn it is so beautiful. The sky is only going to look like this tonight. No picture would ever do it justice. I can only appreciate it right now. No putting it off anymore, it’s time to just breath, enjoy, and be completely in the present for once.

That clear mind is not only when I feel the best but when I think the best. It is when I want to write a blog post about a thought like the stars. Or when I figure out big decisions. Almost all of my favourite moments are in that mindset, so I try to always have it.

I kinda think of it as my vacation frame of mind. You see when people go on vacation they usually have a great time because they are going with that purpose. So why the hell don’t we all just live every day with that purpose? It doesn’t have to be your main purpose. I get it, we all have things to do and let’s be honest, helping people is more important of a purpose. But still, why do you never see people with even a sliver of the mindset that a tourist has.

For example when I go to Niagara Falls of course I think it’s beautiful but I also see how tacky the tourist area is and how busy it is and how maybe it is not the best day because this time I didn’t see a rainbow. I don’t see it the same as the tourist who traveled across the world to see this amazing waterfall which ends up being way way more magnificent than the photos.

It is the exact same waterfall, but not the same mindset. Go look for the beauty in life and be ready when God gives you a beautiful sunset, stunning stars, or birds singing in the morning.

Leave a Reply

